Vaduthala HS SportsThe 19th Annual Athletic Meet of Don Bosco Senior Secondary School Vaduthala was held on 19th, 20th and 21st of November 2009 at the Don Bosco School Ground. The solemn inauguration ceremony was preceded by a colorful march past wherein all the four houses marched smarty to the rhythm of the school band. Commodore T K Ashokan, the Director of the Cochin Naval Academy, who presided over the function, received the guard of honor at the march past. Rev. Fr. Babu Manisery, the vice principal of the school welcomed the gathering. Cmde. Ashokan hoisted the flag and declared the meet open. In his inaugural address he exhorted the students to grow as tough and responsible citizens of our country. After the inauguration there was the arrival of the Olympic Torch led by Master Rudhin Aldrin who represented the Kerala State in the national level football tournament and got selected to the Indian Camp which was held at Jamshedpur. The chief guest lighted the lamp. The oath taking ceremony was led by Master Bibin Selvin, the School Sports Secretary. When the sports secretary, holding the flags of all the four houses, led the oath, all the students pledged themselves to participate in the meet with sportsman spirit for the honour of the school and the glory of sports.  After that there was the grand P T display. After the inaugural gathering the competitions began with no delay. The first meet prize was bagged by Master Rudhin Aldrin for 100m race (Juniors), with a record of 11:23 sec. There were 20 events on the first day.

Vaduthala LP SportsThe second day was doubly colorful with the Sports Day of the Don Bosco Junior School. In the inaugural march past, Rev. Fr. Babu Manissery received the guard of honour from the little ones who with commendable discipline and order marched to the school band wearing caps and ribbons according to the color of their houses. Rev. Fr. Sebastian Ottaplackal welcomed the gathering. The chief guest hoisted the flag and declared the meet open. The Olympic torch was brought to the ground by four students from each of the houses. The oath taking ceremony was led by Master Thomas Reginold, the school head boy. It was followed by the P T Display. After the inauguration, the competitions began and the events of the L P section were over by 02:00 p.m. and then there were the competitions for the teachers.

On the third day, the competitions of the High School resumed. The third day was indeed very exciting with the tug of war of the senior students. All the competitions were over by the lunch break and in the afternoon there were the competitions for the staff and the parents. The students conducted the events for the staff. The closing ceremony was held at 02:00 p.m. The newly elected MLA, Mr. Dominic Presentation, received the guard of honour at the concluding march past. Rev. Fr. Devassy Chirackel welcomed the gathering. The M L A presided over the function. Then the prizes were distributed. Master Sanoop K S was selected as the Individual Boy Champion, for the third consecutive time. In the girls’ section, there were two champions: Kumari Revathy Sunny and Kumari Laya Charles. To mark the official conclusion of the meet the chief guest lowered the flag and it was handed over to the Principal by the four house captains. The students dispersed after the national anthem.

As for the students and the staff this was very wonderful sports fiesta which taught them many lessons of mutual co-operation, sportsman spirit, endurance, etc.

Bro. Sumon SDB

Write a comment:

Your email address will not be published.